Talking to Catalina Estrada

I went talking to Catalina Estrada, an artist born and raised in Medellín, Colombia. There she graduated in Graphic Design. Seven years ago she decided to travell to Europe, and stayed in Paris for a wilde, then moved to Barcelona where she graduated in Plastic Arts. Today she is a freelance designer and illustrator and she also teaches illustration at IDEP in BCN.

Coxi: How did you started? How have you realised you wanted to become an artist?

Catalina: I´ve always loved painting and drawing, I don´t know if I realised I wanted to become an artist, I just started doing what I liked and try to enjoy the whole process, worked a lot like crazy, got obsessed with images, colors, and above everything I tried to make real all the ideas that came to my mind, and now it´s like I´m doing what I love the most and even better I´m getting payed for it.

Coxi: What was the biggest influence in your work untill today?

Catalina: Many things have influenced my work, however I guess my mother´s usage of color is one of the greatests influences in what I do, every wall in her house is painted with a different color, she has beautiful objects that she collects all over the place, and she´s got a really personal and original sense of beauty. 

Coxi: Tell me a little bit about your artistic path. 

Catalina: I was born and raised in Colombia, there I graduated in graphic design. 7 years ago I moved to Barcelona and studied Fine Arts specialized in Lithography. I began to focus on illustration a couple of years ago and I also altern it with my personal art projects and that´s what I´ve been doing lately and I feel really happy about it !

Coxi: What are your main goals when you create?

Catalina: Feel proud of what I create

Coxi: Were do you get inspiration? 

Catalina: Music is one of my greatest sources of inspiration, I listen to songs and I want to create a new piece, mostly anything that´s emotional, also movies, books, folk art, etc…

Coxi: Do you rule by any tendency in your creative work, or you only follow what comes in your mind?

Catalina: I guess I mostly follow what comes in my mind and in my heart

Coxi: Designers/Artists you admire? 

Catalina: All pre-raphaelites, all arts and crafts artists, many folk artis from latin america, art nouveau artists, modernist, among many others.

Coxi: How is your work environement? 

Catalina: I work at home, I share one of the rooms with my very talented husband (who by the way helps me a lot with everything I do and I couldn´t live without him), and we have a small studio here, we have two big tables with two big screens ( I just bought a very big screen) and that´s it basicly. I have most part of the studio taken with boxes, prints, more boxes, painting stuff, sometimes is a mess but mostly it´s a very nice place.

Coxi: What is your favourite piece of art that you have at home? old or recently bought…

Catalina: I´ll take the pictures of it so that you can see it.  (“We’ll be waiting!!!”)

Coxi: What is your bedside table book at the moment?

Catalina: I have like a pile of books waiting for me to read them, I don´t know why I´m reading many at the same time so I never seem to finish none, but at the moment I have all this in my bedside table:

Coxi: Are you living your ideal lifestyle?

Catalina: Absolutely, I just wish I had a bit more time to travel more.

Coxi: What haven’t you done yet that you definitely want to try someday? 

Catalina: Live in a house near the sea.

Click here to take a look at Catalina latest exhibition 

4 Responses to “Talking to Catalina Estrada”

  1. ana Says:

    Congratulations!!!
    I love her work…and your site is every day more interesting.

  2. Maryam in Marrakesh Says:

    What a lovely blog! I am really enjoying it here in Marrakesh!

  3. imelda Says:

    I was introduced to her work at Cruststation before, it’s really amazing that you got an interview with her! thanks for sharing.

  4. Elit Alice » Blog Archive » Catalina Estrada Says:

    […] (source: lifefever) […]

Leave a Reply

