Talking to Daisy de Villeneuve

Talking to Daisy de Villeneuve

Daisy de Villeneuve was born in 1975, the older daughter of a famous fashion model in the 60s and 70s, and of the man who was responsible by the rise of fashion icon Twiggy. Since she was a kid, she was a art passionated, and even won lots of art conpetitions. Today she became one of the most successfull fashionillustrators, not only in UK (where she is currently living), but world wide! Daisy has already done solo exhibitions, created designs for Nike, V&A Museum and Top Shop, and she has also launched two successfull books.

I went talking to her..

Coxi-When did you realised you wanted to be an artist?

Daisy-I was good at art from a very young age and when I got older it seemed like the right direction to go in.

Coxi-Where do you get inspiration to draw and illustrate?

Daisy-Books, films, traveling to new places & spending time with my friends all inspire me.

Coxi-Which is your graduation?

Daisy-I graduated with a Fine Art Degree from Parsons School of Design in 1999.
Talking to Daisy de Villeneuve

Coxi-How would you define your clothing style?

Daisy-Eclectic mix of old clothes and new. I like vibrant colors. I normally wear something that stands out like a bright stripy scarf or red rain coat. Whenever I meet someone new they always say that I look like my illustrations.

Coxi-Describe the main concept of your books?

Daisy-The main concept of my books are about the communication between people and how they interact with one another.

Coxi-What did you wanted to transmite or show to the readers/buyers?

Daisy-I wanted the written stories to be universal so everyone could relate or find familiar and funny. I wanted the drawings to look colourful and compliment the text.

Talking to Daisy de Villeneuve

Coxi-All time favorite artist…

Daisy-Peter Blake the Pop artist

Coxi-Have you been influenced in all your artistic route by any artistic movement?

Daisy– I like Surrealism, Dadaism, Art Deco, Pop Art and Outsider Art. With each of those art movements that I mentioned I like their take on the world how they see it.

Coxi-What gives the most satisfaction to create?

Daisy-I get satisfaction from the concept that I create being manifested into a product or book. I enjoy seeing it in shops and galleries. If I see someone in the street carrying one of my Topshop bags that’s always cool.

Coxi-How is your work environement?

Daisy-I don’t have a studio. I work from home at a desk and on it is my computer, scanner and notebooks. I have lots of folders spread out all over the floor in different colours for each project, sometimes if I’m really busy it can get out of control with a bunch of paper piled up and not knowing where anything is.

Coxi-Do you create fictional characters, or they represent someone in your life (or even yourself)?

Daisy-Most of the characters are semi real semi fictional, lots of the time I include myself.
Talking to Daisy de Villeneuve

Coxi-Are you living your ideal lifestyle?

Daisy-I like my lifestyle but it’s not ideal. I’d like to make some money, buy a house, settle down and I’m no where near any of those things.

Coxi-What haven’t you worked yet, but you really want to try someday?

Daisy-I’d like to do fabric design and get into Textiles. I’m about to start a printmaking class next month.

Coxi- Describe your self as a person…

Daisy-I am nice, kind, polite, loyal friend, good listener, funny, sarcastic, opinionated, have strong morals, shy, ambitious, laid back and worry too much.

Talking to Daisy de Villeneuve

5 Responses to “Talking to Daisy de Villeneuve”

  1. ana Says:

    Congratulations what a great interview..she seems really nice…

  2. cruststation Says:

    This is so uncanny, I just posted an entry about Daisy de Villeneuve 🙂 Cool interview.

  3. maqira Says:

    Querido Coxi, adorei as tuas palavras. Sabe bem saber que alguém acha
    que o pouco que tenho feito, a comparar contigo, é algo que não merece o desinteresse das pessoas. Tenho poucos comentários mas, entre os poucos que tenho, alguns são para guardar na minha caixinha das boas recordações.

    Um grande beijinho e já sabes que te desejo o melhor do mundo.

    maqira

  4. maqira Says:

    Vou enviar-te por fax o k me pediste.

    Tenho k te dar os parabens porque acho o texto óptimo.

    Se alguma coisa não perceberes, diz. Ok?

    VV maqira

  5. Kate Says:

    Ah I love her work, that is completely what I aspire to!

Leave a Reply

